pinkoween: a halloween guide for pastel princesses

pinkoween: a halloween guide for pastel princesses

Nothing says Halloween like that classic black and orange color scheme. Sure, you might throw in a little purple or lime green for flavor every now and then, but for the most part, Halloween aesthetics hew pretty close to the traditional color combo. But what if it didn’t have to?

As you may know, I live my life divided fairly equally between ultra femme and super spooky – but these sides will be divided no longer! Because today I have for you some inspiration for my new favorite concept: #PINKOWEEN

Photo via Amidst the Chaos

The first thing I stumbled across that set me on this pastel Halloween track was this absolutely beautiful tablescape from Amidst the Chaos. The pastel pumpkins, the pink skull, the delightfully spooky but still super cute snacks…I knew that I was falling for pastel Halloween and falling hard. I loved the idea, and I needed to find more!

Image via A Fanciful Twist

I found another fabulous party idea, this witch’s tea party from A Fanciful Twist. I absolutely love how over the top all of it is, a feast for the senses, and the way that she combined the various pinks with some traditional Halloween orange. It goes to show that you don’t have to entirely give up on the classic colors and style if you want to work a little bit more pink into your Halloween decor.

Photo via Jennifer Perkins

Everyone knows Jennifer Perkins is the expert on all things kitschy and Halloween. I featured her fabulous candy corn tree in my post about Halloween trees, but this mask-covered hot pink tree is such a fun, bright take on the holiday.

Photo via Sugar and Charm

How about a delightfully creaky candy cart, like this one from Sugar and Charm? I absolutely love how this cart looks sweet and cheery at first glance, until you look a little closer and notice the skeletons and spiderwebs. It’s such an amazing combination of feminine floral and creepy.

Decorated Halloween mantle
Photo via Good Housekeeping

This classy mantle from Good Housekeeping is super chic with a pop of pink making it feel really fun and modern. Especially if you’re someone who prefers to work Halloween stuff into your everyday decor instead of going Full Spoopy, this is a great way to do it!

Photo via Popsugar

This is so glam! All of my favorite things: black and white stripes, pink, gold, and flowers! I think a little tableaux like this with flowers calls back to the harvest roots of the holiday in a very glam.

Photo via Studio DIY

Pastel + puns = everything I need in life. These Studio DIY “pun-kins”Β are too cute, and a great way to experiment with a non-traditional color scheme without having to commit to much. Stack a few of these on your porch or table and enjoy the unexpected style.

And here’s just a peek at how I’ve worked some Pinkoween into my decor this year:

What do you think? Are you an orange loyalist or would you experiment with some pink and pastels in your Halloween decorating?

Think pink this Halloween! Check out this round-up for decor inspiration for the pastel princess under your spooky exterior.

7 thoughts on “pinkoween: a halloween guide for pastel princesses

  1. I totally thought about this concept during Midsummer Scream and I love it! I’m not really a pastels kind of gal, but I do love me some adorable pink accents and thought how cool would it be to mix spooky and pink. Love all your samples!

    Like

Leave a comment