glamour ghoul box unboxing & review: OUIJA

glamour ghoul box unboxing & review: OUIJA

The Glamour Ghoul Box is a monthly box filled with accessories, decor, and bath and body products created by indie makers, all curated around a different ghoulish theme each month. I mentioned in my last post that spirit boards/ouija boards are one of my favorite spooky aesthetics, so when I saw that August box would be Ouija themed, I jumped on it!

One of the first memories I have of being both spooky and a skeptic was bringing a ouija board to a sleepover party when I was in middle school. Several of the other girls refused to play, insisting that it could summon the devil. “It’s made by Hasbro,” I countered. “We got it at Toys R Us.” Such is my life! Luckily there were no demons unleashed (to my knowledge) when I opened up this Glamour Ghoul Box.

First impressions: I would have liked to see something a little more special about the packaging instead of a plain white box. I know that as a small business a fancy custom-printed box may be out of reach, but even adding a cute sticker would help add that extra touch to take the experience to the next level. But it’s what’s on the inside that counts (or so they tell me), so let’s take a look.

First up in the box was this lovely makeup bag in a Victorianesque spirit board print from Bloody Agorable. In my opinion, you can always use another little all-purpose pouch; I’m going to be taking my first trip abroad this fall, and I know I’ll be filling my suitcase with things sorted into little zipper bags just like (and including) this one!

Okay, true confessions, I saw this bat pin by BrightBatDesign in the Glamour Ghoul Box IG story and that was what 100% sold me on this box. A glittery purple bat that is also a ouija board??? This pin is basically a perfect representation of my aesthetic, and I absolutely had to have it. It’s so darling in person, even cuter than I thought it would be. The glitter is really vibrant, and the gold metal details are super lovely.

This planchette decal from Build Your Empire Clothing Co is also very fun! I can’t decide if I want to stick it on a mirror or perhaps spook up my car? I don’t believe in bumper stickers, so it could be fun to use a decal to add some personality to my ride.

I love the style of this cool planchette soap from Sick Soaps. Unfortunately, I’m not a big fan of absinthe as a scent, but that just frees me from having to choose whether to use it (and feel bad about ruining it) or keep it as a decoration (and feel guilty about never using it).

The final items in the box were a set of scents: Sun by Strange Fire & Fumery and Moon from Hexennacht. They’re both very rich, musky scents with a lot of spice. As I mentioned in my mega perfume haul/review, I’m not really a spicy perfume kind of lady. I will try these out, since you can’t really judge a perfume until you smell it on your own skin, but I’m guessing I’m going to pass these on to a friend. I do love the idea of a set of perfume oils that can be worn either separately or layered.

Glamour Ghoul Box allows you to pre-order each themed box up to halfway through the previous month (so pre-orders for the October box will close September 16) or when the box sells out. The standard box is $34.95 plus shipping. I think that the contents of this box are definitely worth the price, though unfortunately these didn’t all work for me. That’s always the danger of a subscription box, especially one that incorporates beauty and personal care products. It was absolutely delightful to open up and dig through, and I appreciate what a well-curated box it is!

If you’re interested in spooky things (and ideally slightly less picky than me), I think you’d definitely enjoy trying out one of these boxes. At the time of this post, there are still spots available for the “The Craft”-themed October box, the Gothic Fairytale November box, and the Familiars December box, if any of those themes strike your fancy. I’ll definitely keep an eye out on the upcoming themes to see if there’s another box that I just can’t say no to.

Have you ever gotten a spooky subscription box?

2 thoughts on “glamour ghoul box unboxing & review: OUIJA

Leave a comment